Home / All / Dr.Veerappa Moily chosen for coveted literary honour of Saraswati Samman-2014

Dr.Veerappa Moily chosen for coveted literary honour of Saraswati Samman-2014

Dr. Veerappa Moily chosen for coveted literary honour Saraswati Samman-2014

The Saraswati Samman is an annual award for outstanding prose or poetry literary works in any 22 Indian language listed in Schedule VIII of the Constitution of India. It is named after an Indian goddess of learning and is considered to be among the highest literary awards in India.

Former Union minister and senior Congress leader Dr.M Veerappa Moily has been selected for the prestigious Saraswati Samman for 2014 for his famous Kannada poem ‘Ramayana Mahanveshanam’. Dr. Moily who hails from Marapadi, Dakshina Kannada, has been a vetern politician and a writer has been done commendable work in the field of kannada literature.

In the poem, Dr.Moily tried to explore the ‘Ramarajya’ or the true principle of the ‘ideal State’ from a secular and modern point of view, the Foundation said in a release. A 75 year old senior Congress leader from Karnataka, who was also chief minister of the state,Dr. Moily is an established writer in Kannada who has authored four novels, three collections of poetry, a number of plays and numerous essays. His novels ‘Kotta’ and ‘Tembare’ have been translated to Hindi, English and many other languages. Divided into five volumes, ‘Ramayana Mahanveshanam’ was first published in 2007 in Kannada. The poem has been translated into English, Hindi, Telegu and Tamil.

The Saraswati Samman was instituted in 1991 by the K. K. Birla Foundation. It consists of Rs 10 lakh, a citation and a plaque.The Candidates are selected from literary works published in the previous ten years by a panel that included scholars and former award winners.

Instituted by the K K Birla Foundation in 1991, Saraswati Samman is given annually for an outstanding literary work in any Indian language mentioned in the Schedule VIII of the Constitution. The award carries a cash purse of Rs 10 lakh, a citation and a plaque. The selection for the award was made by a 13-member panel of scholars and writers headed by former Chief Justice of India R C Lahoti.

A rare-politician literary figure, Dr. Veerappa Moily handled many ministries in the previous UPA regime including Petroleum and Natural Gas, Corporate Affairs, Power and Law. He was chief minister of Karnataka from 1992 to 1994.

Previous Saraswati Samman Winners

1990 – Ismat Chughtai for Urdu Literature
1991 – Harivanshrai ‘Bachchan’ for his autobiography in four volumes
1992 – Ramakant Rath for his poetry ShreeRadha
1993 – Vijay Tendulkar
1994 – Harbhajan Singh
1995 – Balamani Amma for poetry collection Nivedyam
1996 – Shamsur Rahman Faruqi for She`r-e Shor-Angez
1997 – Manubhai Pancholi
1998 – Shankha Ghosh for his anthology Gandharba Kabitaguccha
1999 – Indira Parthasarathy
2000 – Manoj Das for his novel Amruta Phala (The Nectar Fruit)
2001 – Dalip Kaur Tiwana for her novel Katha Kaho Urvashi
2002 – Mahesh Elkunchwar for his play Yugant
2003 – Govind Chandra Pande for his collection of 163 Sanskrit poems entitled Bhagirathi
2004 – Sunil Gangopadhyay for his novel Pratham Alo
2005 – K. Ayyappa Panicker for his collection of poems Ayyappa Panikarude Kritikal
2006 – Jagannath Prasad Das for his collection of poems Parikrama
2007 – Naiyer Masud for his collection of short stories Taoos Chaman Ki Myna (The Myna from Peacock Garden) written in Urdu
2008 – Lakshmi Nandan Bora for his novel Kayakalpa
2009 – Surjit Paatar for Lafzan Di Dargah
2010 – S. L. Bhyrappa for Mandra
2011- A.A. Manavalan for Irama Kathaiyum Iramayakalu
2012- Rohit Gautam for Bang Bhoomi
2013- Sugathakumari for the collection of her poems, titled ‘Manalezhuthu.’.

About Prashanth Chandra M

Passionate about Books, Technology, Literature and Life.

Leave a Reply